Descriptive Reflection: Strengths and Challenges in Communicating

Subject: Formal Self-Introduction Letter

Dear Professor Blackstone,

Communicating in English is something I do all the time. I grew up in a family where we communicate only in English and I cannot remember the last time we spoke in another language.

Strengths

During my younger days, I was a quiet and shy person and I did not share much of my feelings to anyone. So eventually I became an attentive listener. I am the listening ear to my family and my friends and hearing their problems is part of my everyday life. Sometimes it can be so overwhelming that it affects me emotionally, but most of the time I enjoy it because I can help them.

Challenges

On the other hand, communicating with strangers has always been a challenge. It was because of my old habit of speaking softly and slurring my words. I cannot remember when it started but I have always been this way. Thankfully, my family and close friends know and understand me. However, when I talk to a stranger, I would sound like a quiet person with low self-esteem.

I knew I needed help so I decided to sign up for vocal lessons. I thought that maybe through these lessons I could build up my confidence in speaking and perhaps change the way I speak too. After a few months, I realised my words were clearer and I was more confident when I speak.

Goals

Since then, I am in a process of improving my communication skills. I came from an engineering diploma and back then I did not have much opportunity or experience with presentations or public speaking. Therefore, during my time in your course, I would like to work on my presentations and be able to deliver them effectively in terms of speech and content.

Yours Sincerely,

James Ong

SIE2016 Group 5


  • Edited on 13 September
  • Edited on 19 September
  • Edited on 20 September
  • Edited on 21 September

Read and commented on:

  • Claudia
  • Keric
  • Jerome Tay

2 Replies to “Descriptive Reflection: Strengths and Challenges in Communicating”

  1. Dear James,

    Thank you for this good effort at the first blog post. The letter is generally clear and concise, and it is quite informative. You really seem to be bearing your soul (so to speak).

    As you can see from my comments below, there are a few points you need to consider in terms of language use. Let’s work on these:

    1) Sometimes it can be overwhelming that it affects me emotionally, but most of the time I enjoyed it because I could help them.>>> (phrasing/verb tense inconsistency)
    Sometimes it can be SO overwhelming that it affects me emotionally, but most of the time I enjoy it because I can help them.

    2) My family and close friends know and understands … >>> (subject-verb disagreement) ?

    3) low self-esteem person >>> a person with low self-esteem

    4) I knew I needed help so I decided to sign up for vocal lessons. I thought that maybe through these lessons I can build…. >>> (verb tense inconsistency)

    5) After a few months, I realized my words are clearer and I am more confident when I speak. >>> (verb tense: When did you realize this? In the past or recently?)

    6) I came from an engineering diploma and back then I do not have much … >>> (verb tense)

    I look forward to reading more of your writing.

    Cheers,

    Brad

    Like

  2. Hi James

    A well structured blog post with detailed content you have there.
    Below are just some comments from me that may be able to help and improve on your blog post.

    -I would suggest the use of ‘am’ instead of ‘was’ in some parts of your post if it is still current. E.g. Para 2, Line 3 “I was the listening…” to “I am the listening..”.

    -Blog post/ Letter format is in British style (with commas at the opening and closing), language used is American style (realized, Para 4). You might want to sync the format and language used.

    Regards
    Jerome Tay

    Like

Leave a Reply

